top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKatrina

Read This If You're Running for the First Time



Imma be honest: when I was younger I absolutely hated running. I didn't like my PE classes forcing me to run a certain distance and pressuring me to meet a certain time. Now, I enjoy running and consider it to be one of my main outlets to de-stress. I don't know what triggered me to go on the treadmill or start running on the track, but once I did, I couldn't stop. In college, my friend and I became running & gym buddies, so we ran together in any weather condition (even in freezing 30 degree weather). Also, I invited my friends to run a fun 5k with me in March (during cherry blossom season) so that motivated me to keep running and training for the event. However, COVID-19 hit and we couldn't participate in the event :(. Now, back home in California, it's been hard to find the motivation and time to run, but I've learned so much that I didn't know before and I'm excited to bring that knowledge when I go back to Seattle.

If you are someone who can somewhat relate (never really liking running, but then ended up loving it) or are someone who wants to start running, then I have some tips and advice.

You can't just run. Surprisingly, running is a sport that requires good form and technique. In Seattle, I just ran without paying attention to my form or my heart rate; all I cared about was the pace and the time. Then, when I ran with my dad for the first time he taught me all of what I'm about to spill. I'm going to spill the tea on running, sis.


Tips on Improving your Run

  1. Prepare and change your mindset. If your mindset is to run the fastest mile or the fastest 5k, then you gotta change it. It can definitely be a goal to work towards, but first you need to know the basics and focus on crucial factors that can make your run better.

  2. Good form = less injuries. Chest out, shoulders relaxed, straight body, arms at sides. I used to run slouched and I guess that's one reason why I fatigued quickly. By having your chest out means that you're expanding the lungs which results to increasing oxygen transport, and therefore blood flow, to your muscles. Also, having a straight body and your shoulders relaxed can prevent any back pain. When you go on your first run, I encourage you to consistently check your form and if you ever feel like you're losing it, then automatically fix it.

  3. Heart rate 180 BPM and over when going at a pace of 14-16 is not it. That's what happened to me when I ran with my dad. We were literally fast walking and my heart rate reached 180 BPM when it should've been between 130-140 BPM. If you're going at a slow pace and your heart rate is high, then go slower. Maintaining a good, steady heart rate is KEY as it can improve your stamina. This means that your muscles won't fatigue quickly and you're not breathing heavily and so out-of-breath. Eventually, as time goes on and you practice more, you will notice that you can go faster and still maintain a normal heart rate. As you run, consistently check your fitness watch (if you have one) to see your heart rate. If you don't own a fitness watch, then you can manually check your pulse at your wrist or your neck. Do this before and after your run. Remember, the heart is a muscle which means that you can build on it.

  4. Breatheeeee. Don't forget to inhale and exhale. This can help with your heart rate, especially as you exhale it can lower the heart rate. There are different techniques in breathing, but I inhale through the nose every three count. Inhale 3, exhale 3.

  5. Don't JUST run. Do different workouts that involve running such as: sprints, hill repeats, and tempo runs. These are a few workouts that I was introduced to by my dad and I now include in my routine. These will make you STRONGER. By doing sprints (literally running as fast as you can at a distance), your cardiac muscle will grow to be bigger and stronger so that it can pump blood faster to the rest of your body. Hill repeats (pretty much self-explanatory) can help improve your cadence and battle through those uphill paths. The final running workout I do is a tempo run. These kind of runs are all about pushing yourself. How it goes is one certain distance, say 0.25 mile, at a jogging pace and then the next 0.25 mile is at a faster pace. Tempo runs are good if you aim to go faster at long distances. I enjoy doing different types of runs and workouts as repetitiveness isn't my thing. Always make these workouts uniquely to you so that you can enjoy them and break a sweat.

These are tips that you should be able to focus on as you run. It may seem a lot but I mean, it's all proper and safer. I challenge you to run without music. Yes, run in silence. I actually enjoy running without music if I have enough energy and motivation to power through. While I run without music, I can focus on my breathing and form more efficiently. The music I listen to while I run (and do cardio) are upbeat that it distracts me from focusing on the techniques. However, if you feel you absolutely need music, then I can't stop you from listening to your powering beats.

There's a flow to running. All of these tips will be flowing together once you get it. It just will because that's the art of running.

2 views0 comments
bottom of page